Husband whinging

Standard

Today we’re headed to see the house the carpenter A wants to build our house is currently building. A says we need to bring him a case of beer. Fine. He starts giving me directions on what to buy “Make sure it’s real beer. None of that happoshu fake stuff. He hates that. Get a case, you know a box, not blah, blah, blah…” A case of beer is not light, and it is snowing like a mother. Darling husband, just go into the store and buy it yourself! So he does. And then my big, burly husband comes out of the shop with the skinny shop boy carrying the case of beer, and has him load it into the car. Touche!

So we’re driving now to go and see the house and like I said, it is snowing like a mother, even for Nagano, this is a big snowfall, and hub is swearing and cursing at every driver in front of us and their slow (?! I prefer the word cautious) asses. Yes, everyone is driving slowly, but dude, it’s because they want to live to see tomorrow, and preferably not from a hospital bed. I know he’s worried about pissing off the ornery craftsman, but if he can’t understand this weather holding us up, I’m not sure I want him building my house. I most definitely place the safety of my children over some old guy’s cranky ego. So chill daddy-o!

About Brenda in Nagano

Originally from Chicago, I knew I was destined to spend the rest of my life in Japan the moment I set foot in the country at the tender age of 16. However, I was quite intent on spending that rest of my life in a major city with a full on career, until my Japanese Prince Charming came trotting down from the mountains of Nagano to sweep me off my feet and whisk me away, turning my whole life plan on its head. Two months after moving to Nagano I gave birth to our little Princess Charming, so now I am officially a SAHM and teach a little belly dance on the side.

3 responses »

  1. A CASE?!? I just got cross with Y for buying TWO beers for our neighbour for helping him out of the snow…feel stingy now 😄 How was the house? Sounds exciting!

    • You’re not kidding! It was not my choice to buy the case, but I’ve got a lot of hopes and dreams pinned on this man. The house is only about 1/2 finished. The carpenter does beautiful work but it was hard to really picture our own house since the style of what I personally want, is completely different. It was nice to see though.

Leave a Reply

